The Teams of the FIFA 2010 World Cup in South Africa

As the host nation, South Africa qualified automatically for the tournament. Nonetheless South Africa participated in World Cup qualifiers because the Confederation of African Football (CAF) qualifiers also served as the qualifying tournament for the 2010 African Cup of Nations. They were the first host since 1934 to participate in preliminary qualifying. As happened in the previous tournament, the defending champions were not given an automatic berth, and Italy had to participate in qualification.

The following 32 teams qualified for the final tournament. They will play in 8 different groups –

Team(s) is Groups

Team(s) is Groups

Group A – South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France
Group B – Argentina, Nigeria, Korea Republic, Greece
Group C – England, USA, Algeria, Slovenia
Group D – Germany, Australia, Serbia, Ghana
Group E – Netherlands, Denmark, Japan, Cameroon
Group F – Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand, Slovakia
Group G – Brazil, Korea DPR, Côte d’Ivoire, Portugal
Group H – Spain, Switzerland, Honduras, Chile


What Next?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment